Gallery

Passionate About a Bit of Passion

I was talking to my boss the other day about the NLP Trainers Training I completed a few weeks ago.  At top speed and full throttle I was telling him all about how great the course had been and how much I’d learned and grown during those 3 weeks.  I was enthusing about the techniques we’d learned to communicate effectively with your audience, such as building rapport, projecting your energy, using the right gestures/body langauge, spatial anchoring and suggesting ideas of how we could use and teach these skills within the business.

Now, my boss doesn’t know me amazingly well as I’ve worked for this company for only 16 months and we’re located in different countries, so we don’t see each other frequently.

Finally after about 5 minutes of intense talking (and hand waving that he couldn’t see on the other end of the phone!) I took a breath…  There was silence on the other end of the phone.

I’ve never heard you talk so passionately about anything – he said.  You sound like a different person. 

I am a passionate soul – I put a massive amount of energy, commitment and enthusiasm into things I’m passionate about.  I love feeling that strength of emotion – it’s like a fire and an unlimited energy source that burns inside.  In the past I was a very ‘wear your heart on your sleeve’ kind of person.  You could never miss it if I had a strong opinion or a passion for something.  These days I’m hopefully older, wiser and a little more in control of my own emotional state (though I guess some of my family and friends may disagree!) so that I can actively choose whether to exhibit my passion or keep it to myself, depending on the situation.    But when it comes to NLP I see no need to hide my passion or curb my enthusiasm.

Passion influences our lives in so many ways.  As Albert Einstein said “I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.”  And according to Nicolas Sparks (in Dear John) “Passion and satisfaction go hand in hand, and without them, any happiness is only temporary, because there’s nothing to make it last.

But I think Joss Whedon says it all for me – passion is the essence of life.  “Passion. It lies in all of us. Sleeping… waiting… and though unwanted, unbidden, it will stir… open its jaws and howl. It speaks to us… guides us. Passion rules us all. And we obey. What other choice do we have? Passion is the source of our finest moments. The joy of love… the clarity of hatred… the ecstasy of grief. It hurts sometimes more than we can bear. If we could live without passion, maybe we’d know some kind of peace. But we would be hollow. Empty rooms, shuttered and dank. Without passion, we’d be truly dead.

So here’s a question for you to ponder – was anyone ever really successful doing something they hated?  Does success always go hand in hand with passion?  What are you passionate about?  How can you make the most of that passion every day?

Try putting 90% of your time and energy tomorrow in to what you’re passionate about and see what happens… 

© Jacqui Gatehouse and NLP THIRTEEN, 2010-2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jacqui Gatehouse and NLP THIRTEEN with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

[Picture credit – NLP THIRTEEN, passionate about wine and chocolate!]
4 responses to “Passionate About a Bit of Passion

  1. There’s a saying, “energy flows where attention goes”, which goes hand in hand with your message. The more passionate you are about something, the more attention you give it, and therefore the more energised you become. Passion = attention = energy = momentum = success.

  2. Thank you Jacqui for this blog particularly this morning. I too am a profoundly passionate person, since my divorce this passionate person has been ‘allowed’ to see the light of day once more. My dearest friend said to me ‘Welcome back’ and I cried knowing how deeply I had buried my passions to fit in. I panic sometimes as I see myself putting my passion aside to get all the ‘have to’s’ done in my day to day life. I have also realised that this flame is lit and nothing will douse it so I can take it as slowly as I have to as long as it is never ignored.
    Currently my passion does not put food on the table, however I shall continue to stoke the fire and one day it will!
    Your Joss Wheldon quote is genius, I may borrow it is you don’t mind with a ping back to you.
    Have a great day
    R

    • Glad it hit the mark. I’m sure your passion will lead you to success and much more than food on the table. I loved that quote too – if there’s no passion then we may as well be dead. Feel free to use it and pingbacks always appreciated! Have a wonderful day too.

Leave a Reply

