Gallery

Worrying is the Ultimate Waste of Time…

It was a wonderful, peaceful, balmy, late summer Sunday yesterday.  One of those days you can only get as summer draws to a close – the scent of late flowers hung in the air, the sound of lawn mowers echoed through our neighbourhood, kids played in the gardens and the leaves in the trees rustled in the warm, gentle breeze.

For me it was a perfect Sunday afternoon spent watching movies, dipping in to a variety of new books and jotting down ideas for blog posts.

Something occurred to me mid-afternoon – one of those lightbulb moments – I wasn’t worrying about anything…abolutely nothing.  My brain was entirely free of that fruitless waste of time and energy.  I wasn’t worrying about:

  • the people in my life – kids, husband, parents, friends….
  • the house – the mortgage, repairs, projects we have to be done… or even whether we needed to mow the lawn or weed the flower bed
  • things I hadn’t done or things I had done
  • things that happened in the week that just finished or things that were potentially going to happen in the next week
  • food – what I’d eaten or not eaten, what to make for dinner or who would make it
  • work – whatever client proposal or meeting was coming up,  whether my boss thought I was good at my job or whether it was the right job for me
  • money – where to use it or simply the lack of it
  • the future, the now or the past…

I was just being, enjoying, relaxing and letting my brain freewheel.

The direct outcome of not worrying was that I felt as if my brain was lighter and could think clearly – be that about small stuff like my next blog post or the BIG stuff, like where I am going with my life.

How often do you get that kind of clarity?  That uncluttered feeling in your head and the freedom to focus on whatever takes your fancy?

Life is not only about awareness, it’s also about choice.  Choice in terms of how you interpret the world around you, in terms of how and what you think, in terms of what you do, how you behave and how you react to events. 

What were you doing on Sunday afternoon?  What did you choose to think about?

 [Picture credit – NLP THIRTEEN]

 © Jacqui Gatehouse and NLP THIRTEEN, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jacqui Gatehouse and NLP THIRTEEN with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

