Gallery

The Power That Sleeps Within

“Deep within man dwell those slumbering powers; powers that would astonish him, that he never dreamed of possessing; forces that would revolutionize his life if aroused and put in to action.”  Orison Swett Marden

It’s been a weird week for me, as you can probably gather from my rather philosophical start to this post.  It’s amazing how a 4 day week can feel even longer than a 5 day week – so TGIF!  The references to slumbering in the quote really connected with me this week, as all I’ve wanted to do is sleep.  As my friends and colleagues know I’m usually a bundle of energy and enthusiasm, but this week I’ve been caught multiple times falling asleep at the least opportunity.  I think I’ve just never recovered from getting up at 4am on Monday morning to fly home from Dubrovnik!

Anyways I’ve been musing a bit on my blog in between waking and sleeping and in my philosophical (otherwise known as ‘please can I go back to bed now’) mood, it’s not a day for lectures, lists, ordering you about or calls to action.  I know that in my enthusiasm to inspire you to take responsibility for your life, to be successful and to achieve your dreams, I can get very good at throwing orders.  There’s a reason I was known as Sergeant Major when I was teaching aerobics!

But personal development is exactly that it’s personal.  Small steps and small changes can lead to big things and huge successes.  It’s about taking one day at a time.  As human beings we’re akin to a piece of art that’s always a work in progress.  It’s like painting the Golden Gate Bridge, once you get done at one end you need to go back and start all over again.   Or as I said before it’s like peeling an onion – you deal with one layer of issues and imperfections and once those are dealt with and peeled off then you have the next layer to deal with and another perspective.

Life is always full of challenges and how you deal with them one day may be entirely different from how you deal with them the next.   The trick is to maintain your curiosity and flexibility to understand those around you and to flex your thinking and behaviour to best fit that situation and to maximise the possibilities of achieving your goal.  NLP is all about developing your sensitivity and awareness of your own thinking and behaviour patterns and those of the people around you – be that at work or at home.

By setting high standards for yourself, higher than anyone else could or would expect, you’ll achieve greatness.  Value your time – don’t waste it worrying or in other useless pursuits.  Treat yourself with the respect you deserve.  I heard a lovely term last week for those of us that buy heaps of self-help books and put them on the shelf to read another day – that’s shelf development not self development!

Remember we often cast things aside as unimportant by saying it’s JUST in your mind.  But the mind is your most powerful tool – for better and for worse.  NLP is the manual for you to understand how your minds work and to help you understand how other people’s minds work too.

So enough philosophical thoughts for one day.  I’m sure I’ll be back to throwing orders and inspirational energy next week.  In the meantime here’s a final quote to think on this weekend…..

“Somebody should tell us, right at the start of our lives, that we are dying.  Then we might live life to the limit, every minute of every day.  Do it!  I say.  Whatever you want to do, do it now!  There are only so many tomorrows.”  Michael Landon

(Picture credit – NLP THIRTEEN, mine all mine of a sunset over a Croatian island seen from Dubrovnik.)

© Jacqui Gatehouse and NLP THIRTEEN, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or
duplication of this material without express and written permission from this
blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be
used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jacqui Gatehouse and NLP
THIRTEEN with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 responses to “The Power That Sleeps Within

  1. Pingback: 3 minutes to save the world… | NLP THIRTEEN

  2. Pingback: Read the Score or Listen to the Symphony? | NLP THIRTEEN

  3. Pingback: Las Vegas Here I Come! | NLP THIRTEEN

  4. Pingback: Worrying is the Ultimate Waste of Time… | NLP THIRTEEN

Leave a Reply

