Gallery

Making Sense of the World Around Us – Part II – Test Yourself

Last week in Part I of ‘Making Sense of the World Around Us’ I introduced you to representational systems.  Could you envisage yourself in more than one of these rep. systems?  Did one ring a bell for you?  Did another feel just right?  Or was one of them just more logical for you?

Many of my readers seem fascinated with finding out their own primary / preferred rep. system.  So if you’d like to find out more about your own preferences here’s my version of the test below.

Read each of the following statements and add a number for each phrase in the space at the front from 1 to 4 whereby:

  • 4 = the phrase that is the best description of you.
  • 3 = the next best description of you.
  • 2 = the next best description of you.
  • 1 = the statement least descriptive of you.

Make sure every phrase gets a different number.  Move through the questions swiftly.  If you have trouble deciding between two phrases then take the first thought that comes to mind.

It should look like this for each questions when you’re done…

  • A – _4_  I can …XXX.
  • B – _2_  I have …XXX.
  • C – _1_  I have …XXX.
  • D – _3_  I’ve XXX

And off we go:

1. When given a project at work, it is easier to carry out if:

  • A – ___  I can envision what is required.
  • B – ___  I have a grasp for what is required.
  • C – ___  I have an understanding of what is required.
  • D – ___  I’ve tuned in to what is required. 

2. When I feel overwhelmed, I find it helps if:

  • A – ___  I can imagine the big picture and make a mental image. 
  • B – ___   I can ask for help and talk to someone.
  • C – ___   I can get in touch with what is happening.      
  • D – ___  I can make sense of things in my head. 

3. When taking a beach holiday, the first thing that makes me glad to be there is:

  • A – ___  The feel of the cool sand, warm sun or the fresh breeze on my face
  • B – ___  The roar of the waves, the whistling wind or the sound of the birds in the distance.        
  • C – ___  This is the type of holiday that makes sense and/or the cost is reasonable.          
  • D – ___  The scenery, the bright sun and the blue water.                 

4. I find it easier to follow a presentation if:

  • A – ___  I feel in touch with the presenter and the material is within my grasp.   
  • B – ___  The slides are illuminating and I can visualise the concepts.         
  • C – ___  The presentation is based on facts and figures and is logically presented.               
  • D – ___  The presenter speaks clearly and uses his voice to emphasize his message.        

 5. When buying a car I make my decision based on:

  • A – ___  The price, economy (miles per litre), safety features etc.         
  • B – ___   How comfortable the seats are or the feel when I test drive it.            
  • C  – ___  The colour, styling and I can imagine how I would look in it.         
  • D  – ___  The roar of the engine or how it purrs like a kitten.  

 6. I communicate my thoughts through:

  • A – ___  My tone of voice and how fast I speak. 
  • B – ___  My words, data and logic.           
  • C – ___  My appearance and facial expression.   
  • D – ___  My feelings and getting fired up.             

 7. When I am anxious, the first thing that happens is:

  • A – ___  Things begin to sound different and I tune out.
  • B – ___  Things begin to feel different, I can’t get a handle on what to do.     
  • C  – ___  Things begin to look different and the picture gets fuzzy.               
  • D – ___  Things begin to not make sense or they’re not logical.   

 8. During a discussion, I am most influenced by:

  • A – ___  The other person’s logic.             
  • B – ___  The other persons tone of voice and manner of speaking.           
  • C – ___  The energy I feel from the other person.               
  • D – ___  Seeing the other persons body language or being able to picture their point of view.     

 9. I assess how well I am doing at work based on:

  • A – ___  My understanding of what needs to be done.   
  • B – ___  How I see myself making progress.         
  • C – ___  The tone of voice used by my co-workers and my manager.       
  • D – ___  How satisfied I feel.       

 10. One of my strengths is my ability to:

  • A – ___  Have a bird’s eye view of what needs to be done.           
  • B – ___  Make sense of and process new facts and data.               
  • C – ___  Hear what sounds right, loud and clear.
  • D – ___  Get in touch with my feelings.  

11. It’s easiest for me to:

  • A – ___  Select the volume and base for easy listening on a stereo system.
  • B – ___  Pick out the intellectually relevant point in a conversation.          
  • C – ___  Select comfortable furniture.    
  • D – ___  Select attractive colour combinations and to spot pictures that aren’t straight

 12. If I agree with someone, I am likely to say:

  • A – ___  That feels right – it’s easy to catch on.   
  • B – ___  That looks right – it’s crystal clear.           
  • C – ___  That sounds right – it’s clear as a bell.    
  • D – ___  That makes sense – it’s logical. 

 13. I enjoy:

  • A – ___  Choosing music to listen to in the car.
  • B – ___  Making a logical and compelling argument.         
  • C – ___  Buying clothes that are comfortable.     
  • D – ___   Looking my best.

So print out this post and put in your scores.  How you calculate your result will be here in the next post…..I love a cliff hanger!

(Picture credit – thanks to Micrsoft clipart!)

© Jacqui Gatehouse and NLP THIRTEEN, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jacqui Gatehouse and NLP THIRTEEN with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 responses to “Making Sense of the World Around Us – Part II – Test Yourself

  1. Pingback: Making Sense of the World Around Us – Part III – Scoring | NLP THIRTEEN

  2. Pingback: Making Sense of the World Around Us – Part IV – Characteristics | NLP THIRTEEN

Leave a Reply

