Gallery

It’s Never Too Late to be What You Might Have Been

My title for today is a fantastic quote from George Eliot – thanks George.  We’re all looking for success in our lives, and I think she’s right – it really is never too late to be what you might have been.  So what’s the single biggest factor that stops us achieving our goals and our dreams?   When did you last use “I can’t….”?  Do you hear yourself thinking or making statements like these –  I can’t make the time to exercise, I don’t have enough money to enjoy myself, I just don’t feel happy, I can’t stop smoking, I don’t  believe I can get this job, or I wish I were more confident?   

So when did you decide to hold yourself back from achieving your potential and your dreams?  Your biggest limitation can be yourself.  What would you be able to accomplish if you got rid of all your limiting beliefs?   Ask yourself – when did I decide that?  Give up saying “I can’t”, give up saying “I wish”, commit yourself to “I can” and reach for the stars.

A week ago I posted my first poll to gather your feedback on which topic would inspire you most for my first ‘theme week’.  Three or four times a year I’m going to do a week where all my posts relate in some way to a specific topic.  I’m planning to post the first of these next month and I’d like your help to pick the first topic from the 7 options outlined below.  All you need to do is click the tick box beside your chosen topic and click vote.

Right now Personal Power and Principles for Success are running neck and neck with roughly 30% of the vote each so even though I’d planned to announce the winner today I’ve decided to keep voting open for a few more days.  It’s great to see so many people enthusiastic to pick the topic that will inspire them.  Here’s a quick run down on the topics you can pick from:

Principles for Success – if you model amazingly successful people what are their principles for success?  How can you use them to achieve your own success?

Believe in Yourself –  limiting decisions, leading to limiting beliefs, are the most common reason for each of us not achieving our goals.  What action can you truly believe in yourself to reach your maximum potential?

Personal Power – if you can conceive of something, then it’s already certain that you can achieve it.  How can you tap in to, and maximise, your personal power to achieve your goals and achieve things you never even thought possible?

Overcoming Fear – last month I posted Thinking Will Not Overcome Fear, But Action Will which proved to be a real winner in the number of views.  That got me thinking about whether fear was the number one negative emotion that you want to overcome, leave behind and you can certainly live life without?

Great Goals – so many of us set goals at work, but not so many set goals for home or for life in general.  How can you set, test and achieve those goals most effectively?

Using NLP in Business – NLP can be used in any area of your life, but are you interesting in specifically learning more about how to apply it at work?

NLP and Relationships – similarly are you interested in how to apply NLP to your personal relationship, both as home and at work?

I’ll close today with another wonderful quote, this time from Walt Disney himself:  “All our dreams can come true – if we have the courage to pursue them.” 

© Jacqui Gatehouse and NLP THIRTEEN, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jacqui Gatehouse and NLP THIRTEEN with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One response to “It’s Never Too Late to be What You Might Have Been

  1. Pingback: Better Late than Never « Don't Eat the Pancakes

Leave a Reply

